About CIDQ

The Council for Interior Design Qualification (CIDQ) is the premiere certifying organization for interior design professionals. CIDQ develops and administers the three-part NCIDQ Examination, which tests interior designers’ knowledge of core competencies required for professional practice in the industry. The exam is based on CIDQ’s independent, comprehensive analysis of the profession and the daily practice of interior design in a range of settings. CIDQ continually updates the exam’s contents to ensure they reflect the most current skills required to design secure, functional and innovative interior spaces.


CIDQ is comprised of regulatory boards from across the United States and Canada. As such, the organization takes seriously its responsibility to protect the public’s health, safety and welfare. NCIDQ Certification meets legal and regulatory standards for the interior design profession as established by more than half of the states across the U.S. and the provinces in Canada.


Since 1974, CIDQ’s mission has been to create, test and promote guidelines for determining competency in the practice of interior design. NCIDQ Certification has been the global standard for interior design professionals for more than 40 years.

NCIDQ Certification


NCIDQ Certification is the globally recognized hallmark of a highly qualified interior designer.


NCIDQ Certification assures interior designers are competent to meet industry standards not only for aesthetics but also for public health, safety and welfare.


To date, more than 30,000 people around the world have earned NCIDQ Certification, the gold standard for interior design professionals.





Phone: 202.721.0220

Email:  inquiries@cidq.org

or use auto-form on this page.

Staff is available to answer questions 8:30am - 5:00pm (ET) Monday – Thursday, and 8:30am – 12pm (ET) on Fridays May 28 – Sept. 3, 2021, with the exception of holidays.  


Success! Message received.