top of page

Volunteering with CIDQ

CIDQ could not develop or enhance the NCIDQ exams without the support and expertise of countless volunteers. View the various Committees and Task Forces for which we recruit volunteers on an annual basis, along with a list of expectations and time commitments. Individuals are appointed to a committee for a two year term, which may be terminated by either CIDQ or the individual at any time for any reason. On the other hand, Task Force appointments are typically less than one year in length. If you are interested in serving on one of our Exam Development Committees, please check back in July of 2024 to complete a Volunteer Interest Form for service in 2025.  

CIDQ values the work of our volunteers tremendously and appreciates the support and service they provide to CIDQ. Our volunteers provide the industry insights, diverse experience and new perspectives CIDQ needs to stay up to date and in touch with the latest developments in the field. CIDQ has volunteer opportunities working on either long-term standing committees or on time-limited task forces that address specific topics. 

If you have a passion for maintaining the standards of the profession, a desire to evolve and elevate the stature of interior design, and the commitment and skill to work diligently with a group of dedicated colleagues – CIDQ wants you! 


CIDQ places great importance on reserving positions every year for new volunteers to serve on each committee. That said, sometimes there are more volunteers available than there are slots. Please don’t be discouraged if you are not immediately appointed to serve in a volunteer role. Positions arise throughout the year, and new positions are available annually. Even if you do not get called to participate immediately, CIDQ will keep your contact information so CIDQ can call on you as opportunities arise.

​​Ambassadors Program

If you don’t have enough time to serve as an appointed member on a committee or task force but you still want to give back to CIDQ, consider becoming an NCIDQ Ambassador. Ambassadors are NCIDQ Certified designers, practitioners and educators, who are committed to informing students, emerging professionals and colleagues about the importance and value of the NCIDQ Exam and Certification. For more details, visit the Ambassadors web page.

Award Winning Volunteers

The Louis S. Tregre Award was created in 1991, to honor the memory of Louis S. Tregre, the founding director of the Council for Interior Design Qualification. The Tregre Award salutes volunteers who have worked diligently and consistently to further the goals of the NCIDQ Certification.

Louis S. Tregre Award

Louis S. Tregre

Beginning in the late 1960s, Louis worked tirelessly to form an independent, autonomous organization with a mission to develop standards and guidelines for determining competency in the practice of interior design. When CIDQ (then NCIDQ) was incorporated as a not-for-profit organization in 1974, Louis served as its first president, a role he held until the mid-1980s.  CIDQ would not exist today without Louis’ vision, commitment and dedication. His volunteer efforts and spirit – which he shared with the organization for more than 30 years -- are reminders of the critical role of volunteers in the organization’s success.


The Tregre Award recognizes outstanding volunteer service to CIDQ at the grassroots level and honors those volunteers who have worked diligently and consistently for a minimum of 10 years collective service to further the goals of CIDQ, the NCIDQ Examination, and to advance the profession of interior design. Candidates for this award may be nominated by another person or be self-nominated. 

Q_Art_Nom_Tregre .jpg

If you know someone who's made a difference in the interior design profession, submit a nomination today for the CIDQ Tregre Award 2024.


The recipient will be recognized and celebrated during our 50th Anniversary Gala later this year!

Completed nominations are to be submitted to Kayla Karpp by Sunday, May 12, 2024. 

2023 Louis S. Tregre Award Winner Kim Ciesynski 

Kim Ciesynski.jpg

Kim Ciesynski  has been an NCIDQ Certificate holder for 28 years and has served on countless CIDQ committees and task forces, including the Nominating,  Tregre Award, Policies & Procedures, and Finance Committees, as well as the Annual Meeting, IDEP, and Continuing Education Task Forces. Kim served on the CIDQ Board of Directors for several years, serving as President in 2013.

Victoria Horobin, another CIDQ past president, nominated Kim for this year’s Tregre Award, having worked on volunteer initiatives with her for over 12 years. Victoria spoke highly of Kim’s tireless grassroots volunteerism, including her 12 years served with the Nevada State Board of Architecture and Interior Design, as a board member and CIDQ Delegate. Victoria stated, “Kim has given a series of talks at NCARB regional meetings to promote the NCIDQ Examination and the profession of interior design. These have been very positively received and will surely go a long way in our goal of being well understood and well-regulated not only by legislators, but also by our peers and the general public. Kim has been contacted by and has reached out to many state coalitions who are seeking legislation, and she gives tirelessly of her time to assist with information, strategies, and advice.” 

Tregre Award Recipients


  • 2022 Dr. Abimbola Asojo

  • 2021 Kari Frontera

  • 2020 David Hanson

  • 2019 Michael Wirtz

  • 2018 Katherine Setser

  • 2017 Lisa Whited

  • 2016 David Stone

  • 2015 J. Derrell Parker

  • 2014 Emory Johnson

  • 2013 Paula Lutz

  • 2012 Caren Martin

  • 2011 Janice Roberts Young

  • 2010 David Butler

  • 2009 Laura McDonald Stewart

  • 2008 Shirley Hammond

  • 2007 Robin Wagner

  • 2006 Donna Vining

  • 2005 Sherry Bilenduke

  • 2004 Leszek Muniak

  • 2003 Denise Guerin

  • 2002 Sooz Klinkhamer

  • 2001 Sandy Friend

  • 2000 Victoria Horobin

  • 1999 Barbara Pallat

  • 1998 Lucille Taylor

  • 1997 Jan Bast

  • 1996 Jan Parker

  • 1995 Arlene Dougall

  • 1994 Glenda Wilcox

  • 1993 E. Camille Puckett

  • 1992 Irving Schwartz

  • 1991 Will Ching

bottom of page